| MOUNTEVANS, Mayor | RESOLVED: That the Court of Common             |  |  |
|-------------------|--|--|--|
| ·                 | Council holden in the Guildhall of the City of |  |  |
|                   | London on Thursday 21st April 2016, doth       |  |  |
|                   | hereby appoint the following Committee until   |  |  |
|                   | the first meeting of the Court in April, 2017. |  |  |
|                   |  |  |  |

## **POLICY & RESOURCES COMMITTEE**

#### 1. Constitution

A Non-Ward Committee consisting of,

- four Aldermen nominated by the Court of Aldermen
- 20 Commoners elected by the Court of Common Council, at least four of whom shall have fewer than 10 years' service
  on the Court, and two of whom shall be residents (NB. these categories are not exclusive i.e. one Member can fulfil
  both criteria)
- the following ex-officio Members:-

The Right Honourable the Lord Mayor for the time being

The Chief Commoner (who will chair any Sub-Committees regarding Hospitality and Privileges)

such Members of the Court of Common Council as have seats in Parliament

the Chairmen of the following Committees:-

Finance

Planning & Transportation

Port Health & Environmental Services

Police

Community & Children's Services

Establishment

**Barbican Centre** 

Investment

Culture, Heritage and Libraries

The Deputy Chairmen of the Finance and Investment Committees

#### 2. Quorum

The quorum consists of any nine Members.

## 3. Membership 2016/17

# ALDERMEN

- 3 Sir Michael Bear
- 2 Charles Edward Beck Bowman, Sheriff
- 1 Dr Andrew Charles Parmley
- 7 Sir David Wootton

# COMMONERS

- 4 (4) Alexander John Cameron Deane, Deputy
- 18 (4) Stuart John Fraser, C.B.E.
- 30 (4) Joyce Carruthers Nash, O.B.E., Deputy
- 22 (4) Sir Michael Snyder, Deputy
- 4 (4) John Tomlinson, Deputy
- 7 (3) John Alfred Bennett, Deputy
- 3 (3) Wendy Marilyn Hyde
- 16 (3) Jeremy Paul Mayhew
- 14 (3) Wendy Mead, O.B.E.
- 6 (3) Hugh Fenton Morris
- 6 (2) Douglas Barrow, Deputy
- 10 (2) Mark Boleat
- 2 (2) Henry Nicholas Almroth Colthurst
- 15 (2) George Marr Flemington Gillon
- 8 (2) Charles Edward Lord, O.B.E., J.P.
- 8 (1) Simon D'Olier Duckworth, O.B.E., D.L.

- 5 (1) Marianne Bernadette Fredericks
- 12 (1) Catherine McGuinness, Deputy
- 5 (1) Dr Giles Robert Evelyn Shilson, Deputy
- 1 (1) Thomas Charles Christopher Sleigh

together with the ex-officio Members referred to in paragraph 1 above.

#### 4. Terms of Reference

To be responsible for:-

#### General

- (a) considering matters of policy and strategic importance to the City of London Corporation including matters referred to it by other Committees and/or Chief Officers;
- (b) the review and co-ordination of the governance of the City of London Corporation including its Committees, Standing Orders and Outside Bodies Scheme, reporting as necessary to the Court of Common Council, together with the City Corporation's overall organisation and administration;
- (c) overseeing, generally, the security of the City and the City of London Corporation's security and emergency planning;
- (d) the support and promotion of the City of London as the world leader in international financial and business services and to oversee, generally, the City of London Corporation's economic development activities, communications strategy and public relations activities;
- (e) the use of the City's Armorial bearings and the Bridge Mark;
- (f) the appointment of the City Surveyor (in consultation with the Investment Committee);
- (g) general matters not otherwise expressly provided for within the terms of reference of any other Committee;
- (h) approving the City Corporation's annual contribution to the London Councils' Grants Scheme and agreeing, alongside other constituent councils, the proposed overall budget;
- (i) making recommendations to the Court of Common Council in respect of:
  - (i) the appointment of the Town Clerk & Chief Executive, Comptroller & City Solicitor and Remembrancer;
  - (ii) the Corporate Plan, Community Strategy, and other corporate strategies, statements or resolutions;
  - (iii) the issuing of levies to all the constituent councils for their contributions to the London Councils' Grants Scheme, for which the Court of Common Council is a levying body; and
  - (iv) the promotion of legislation and, where appropriate, byelaws;

#### Resource Allocation

(j) determining resource allocation in accordance with the City of London Corporation's strategic policies;

### **Corporate Assets**

- (k) a) determining the overall use of the Guildhall Complex; and
  - b) approving overall strategy and policy in respect of the City Corporation's assets;

#### **Projects**

(I) Scrutiny and oversight of the management of major projects and programmes of work, including considering all proposals for capital and supplementary revenue projects, and determining whether projects should be included in the capital and supplementary revenue programme as well as the phasing of any expenditure;

#### Hospitality

(m) arrangements for the provision of hospitality on behalf of the City of London Corporation;

# Privileges

(n) Members' privileges, facilities and development;

## Sustainability

(o) strategies and initiatives in relation to sustainability;

#### **Sub-Committees**

- (p) appointing such Sub-Committees as are considered necessary for the better performance of its duties including the following areas:-
  - \* Resource Allocation

**Projects** 

Outside Bodies

Public Relations and Economic Development

†Hospitality

†Members' Privileges

- \* The constitution of the Resource Allocation Sub Committee is set by the Court of Common Council and comprises the Chairman and Deputy Chairmen of the Grand Committee, past Chairmen of the Grand Committee providing that they are Members of the Committee at that time, the Chairman of the General Purposes Committee of Aldermen, the Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Finance Committee, the Chairman of the Establishment Committee, the Senior Alderman below the Chair and six Members appointed by the Grand Committee.
- † the Working Parties or Sub Committees responsible for hospitality and Members' privileges shall be able to report directly to the Court of Common Council and the Chief Commoner able to address reports and respond to matters in the Court associated with these activities.